Blacksmithing at Island Farm
Hugh Gaylor was Roanoke Island's only blacksmith in 1850. Gaylor would have forged and repaired agricultural and nautical equipment, made kitchen utensils and other iron items and sharpened farm tools such as sheep shears and axes. Island Farm's blacksmith shop is based on examples from the region and is likely similar to the shop of Gaylor's. Come and experience the ringing of the anvil and the bellow as it flames the coal fires. Watch as the blacksmith creates items for the farm's use.